RTO GUJARAT Department’s Organization Structure

The Transport department functions under the provisions of section 213 of Motor Vehicles Act, 1988. The Transport Department is primarily established for enforcement of the provisions of Motor Vehicles Act,1988, Gujarat Motor Vehicles Act,1989 and the rules framed under these two Acts.

The Transport Department is headed by the Transport Commissioner (TC). He is assisted by Joint Director and OSD specializing in Enforcement, Administration and Finance in the Head office.

Offices Number of Offices
Commissioner of Transport office 01
Regional Transport Office (RTO) 14
Assistant Regional Transport Office (ARTO) 14
IMV Office 02
Transport Checkpost at State Border 14
Total 45




Organization structure of Commissioner of Transport


  • OSD – Officer on Special Duty
  • MVP- Motor Vehicle Prosecutor
  • RTO – Regional Transport Office/Officer
  • IMV – Inspector Motor Vehicle